Other Useful Contacts

Leicestershire County Council

County Hall, Glenfield, Leicester LE3 8RA

Main Switchboard: 0116 232 3232

Blaby District Council

Council Offices, Narborough, Leicester LE19 2EP

Main Switchboard: 0116 275 0555

Fields In Trust (Formerly National Playing Fields Ass.)

2D Woodstock Studios, 36 Woodstock Grove, London

W12 8LE Website: www.fieldsintrust.org

W 12 OBE Website. WWW.Heldsindrast.org							
Thurlaston Paroc	chial Church Council						
Chair	Jerry Taylor	01455 888679					
Church Warden	Cynthia Webb	01455 888394					
Thurlaston Chapel							
-	Rev. Nigel Harrison	01455 888438					
Village Hall Committee							
Chair	Val Holyman	01455 888489					
Bookings	Roni Tinsley	01455 888540					
Carnival Committee							
Chair	Randall Body	01455 888547					
Secretary	Lesley Tansey	01455 888544					
Thurlaston Primary School							
Head	Gavin Beetham	01455 888243					
Secretary	Sue Tilley	01455 888243					
Village Historical Group							
Joint Secretary		01455 888453					
Joint Secretary	Marion Tarratt	01455 888272					
Thurlaston Community Group							
	Michelle Haslam	07854 120890					
, and the second	Sharon Tibbles	01455 888368					
Thurlaston Ramblers							
Organisers	Eric Slack	01455 888453					
	Jenny Scroby	01455 888226					
Thurlaston Players							
Chair	Roni Tinsley	01455 888540					
Tot R Us							
	Jo Harrison	07722 844752					

The Parish Of Thurlaston

- is part of Blaby District, which itself is one of 9 Districts/Units within Leicestershire.
- is one of 18 Parish Councils within Blaby District.
- forms part of Normanton Electoral Ward, along with Huncote and Leicester Forest West.
- at 2087 acres, is the largest parish by <u>area</u>, within Blaby District.
- with around 800 residents, is one of the smaller parishes by <u>population</u> within Blaby District.
- represents the grass roots tier of local government.
- held its first ever meeting on Tuesday 4th December 1894.
- holds regular advertised meetings which the public are welcome to attend.
- obtains funds by setting an Annual Precept, which is placed on the District Council Tax.
- influences local matters, including recreation ground, street lighting, highways and planning.
- must hold a Parish Council election every 4 years, with the next due to be held in 2019.
- has its own website, which can be found at www.thurlastonparish.org.uk

Thurlaston Parish Council

"The grass-roots tier of local government".



Contacts List 2018

Meetings Calendar 2018

- ➤ Always on a Thursday in the Village Hall.
- ➤ Usually start at 7.00 pm, this may vary, please check beforehand.
- ➤ Quorum is a minimum of 3 Councillors.
- > 10 meetings held each year, (no meetings March or August)

Thursday 11 th January 2018
Thursday 22 nd February 2018
Followed immediately by - AGM of
Thurlaston Recreation Ground Charity
Thursday 5 th April 2018
6.30pm Annual Parish Meeting
7pm Full Council Meeting
Thursday 17 th May 2018
Annual Parish Council Meeting
Thursday 28 th June 2018
Thursday 26 th July 2018
Thursday 13 th September 2018
Thursday 26 th October 2018
Thursday 22 nd November 2018
Thursday 13 th December 2018
inc Parish Annual Awards

Parish Councillors & Other Officials

<u>Title</u>	Name	Address	Home 2	<u>Email</u>
Parish Councillor	Maggie Wright	Teena, Croft Road Thurlaston LE9 7TB	01455 888306	cllr.maggie.wright@thurlastonparish.org.uk
Parish Councillor	Esther Harrison	The Manse, 25 Desford Rd Thurlaston LE9 7TE	01455 888438	cllr.es ther.harrison @thurlast on parish.org.uk
Parish Councillor	Trevor England (Chairman)	22 Tyers Close, Thurlaston LE9 7TW	01455 888556	cllr.trevor.england@thurlastonparish.org.uk
Parish Councillor	Nick Bates	16 Tyers Close, Thurlaston, LE9 7TW		cllr.nick.bates@thurlastonparish.org.uk
Parish Councillor	Roni Tinsley	The Coach House, Desford Road Thurlaston LE9 7TQ	01455 888540	cllr.roni.tinsley@thurlastonparish.org.uk
Parish Councillor	Paul Holyman (Vice Chair)	Applewood, Tyers Close, Thurlaston, LE9 7TW	01455 888489	cllr.paul.holyman@thurlstonparish.org.uk
Clerk	Elaine Foxon	16 Cambridge Drive, Desford, LE9 9JB	07873 22999	90 <u>clerk@thurlastonparish.org.uk</u>
Leics County Cllrs	Lee Breckon Richard Blunt			<u>Lee.Breckon@leics.gov.uk</u> <u>richard.blunt@leics.gov.uk</u>
District Councillor	Maggie Wright	Teena, Croft Road, Thurlaston, LE9 7TB	01455 888306	wrightmaggie@live.co.uk